Week in Review

Week In Review - October 11-15
10/15/2021
It’s hard to believe that we are already at Fall Break. I hope our students, staff and families are able to take some time to decompress and enjoy the changing of the leaves and the cooler weather that represent autumn in Colorado. If you or someone close to you find yourself searching for support over the break, please visit our website at www.dcsdk12.org/SocialEmotionalWellness. There you will find resources within DCSD and our community for your whole family on self-care, mental health, social emotional wellbeing, fitness, nutrition and more. I look forward to seeing our students and staff back in just over a week!
Read More about Week In Review - October 11-15
clear
Week In Review - October 4-8, 2021
10/08/2021
Last night I had the privilege to watch as the 2020 and 2021 graduating classes of the Bridge Program were recognized in person. One graduate recently asked us for a “do-over” where students could participate in a traditional graduation event (their commencement ceremonies originally took place virtually due to the pandemic). This request became a reality on Thursday this week. We were incredibly honored to host this meaningful event and to celebrate Bridge graduates and staff. It was beautiful seeing these students and their families experiencing the memorable graduation ceremony they deserve.
Read More about Week In Review - October 4-8, 2021
clear
Week In Review - September 27 - October 1
10/01/2021
The weather is turning cooler and Fall Break is right around the corner. It has been wonderful visiting our schools and seeing our students and staff engaged in learning together in our classrooms! Last night was the Foundation for Douglas County School’s annual Building the Dream Gala. As always, it was amazing to celebrate our 2021 Apple Award Winners and showcase some of Douglas County's finest student talents with our friends and partners in the business community.
Read More about Week In Review - September 27 - October 1
clear
Week In Review September 20-24
09/24/2021
It’s been another great week here in DCSD! Many of our schools are enjoying homecoming weeks, complete with football games, parades, dances, and even community service days. Schools have found options to have as many of these traditional homecoming activities as possible and are creatively using outdoor spaces and other venues to make the spirit and traditions available for students and our community in a safe, fun and memorable way.
Read More about Week In Review September 20-24
clear
Week In Review - September 13-17
09/17/2021
Thank you to all of our students, families and staff who are complying with the Tri-County Health Department Public Health Order by wearing face coverings while indoors in school settings. Your partnership is helping us limit the number of positive COVID cases in our schools and keep our students in in-person learning.
Read More about Week In Review - September 13-17
clear
Week In Review September 6-10
09/10/2021
Thank you to all of our students, families and staff who are complying with the Tri-County Health Department Public Health Order by wearing face coverings while indoors in school settings. Your partnership is helping us limit the number of positive COVID cases in our schools and keep our students in in-person learning.
Read More about Week In Review September 6-10
clear
DCSD Logo
Week In Review August 30 - September 3
09/03/2021
We made it to Friday! I hope our students, staff and families are able to enjoy the upcoming three-day weekend.
Read More about Week In Review August 30 - September 3
clear
Week In Review August 23-27
08/27/2021
Today marks the completion of week three of the school year. It’s been fun to see the high energy at our schools. From elementary school fun runs to middle school dances to high school football season, it's exciting to see our families and students once again enjoying these milestone activities, especially after the challenging years we have faced due to COVID.
Read More about Week In Review August 23-27
clear
DCSD Logo
Week In Review August 16-20
08/20/2021
This has certainly been a whirlwind week. Students are getting settled into their new classroom routines, sports and activities are in session and learning is underway. However, it’s also been challenging as we have worked to navigate a new public health order from the Tri-County Health Department and guidance from the state. During trying times, it’s more important than ever to come together to focus on the positive. Below are some examples of good news from around DCSD.
Read More about Week In Review August 16-20
clear
DCSD Logo
Week In Review August 9-13
08/13/2021
Welcome to the 2021-2022 school year! This week I had the privilege of visiting many of our schools on their first day back.
Read More about Week In Review August 9-13
clear
DCSD Logo
Week In Review August 2-6
08/06/2021
Next week marks the official start of the 2021-2022 school year! We are looking forward to the first day of school, the events and activities that bring our community together, and the journey that we all move through in education to help students be their very best.
Read More about Week In Review August 2-6
clear
DCSD Logo
Week In Review July 26-30
07/30/2021
Our amazing teachers, principals and school staff are busy gearing up for the new school year. This week, over 800 DCSD staff members participated in our annual Summer Summit professional development event. It was so great to connect with so many of our staff over the three-day event!
Read More about Week In Review July 26-30
clear
Week In Review July 19-23
07/23/2021
We are just over two weeks away from the first day of the 2021-2022 school year, and we cannot wait to welcome our students and staff back to the classroom! This week we announced our COVID protocols for the coming school year. In addition, we are excited to announce that we are able to restore our school bus routes to the one and two-mile radiuses that were in place prior to COVID. This means that students who live more than one mile from their neighborhood elementary school or two miles from their neighborhood middle or high school and attend their assigned neighborhood school will generally be eligible for transportation.
Read More about Week In Review July 19-23
clear
Week In Review July 12-16
07/16/2021
I hope you are enjoying the beautiful Colorado weather this week. Over the past few days, many of our school leaders have begun returning to their buildings to prepare for the upcoming school year. In addition, Express Check-In opened for many of our schools. We encourage our families to log into Express Check-In to update household information, sign important school and district forms, update health conditions, and manage school fees.
Read More about Week In Review July 12-16
clear
DCSD Logo
Week In Review - July 5-9
07/09/2021
I hope everyone had a fun and safe Independence Day! We’re a month away from an exciting start to the 2021-2022 school year, so please make sure you’re taking plenty of time to unwind and enjoy the beautiful weather with your friends and family during the remainder of our break.
Read More about Week In Review - July 5-9
clear
DCSD Logo
Week In Review - June 28 - July 2
07/02/2021
Welcome to July! I wish each of you a happy and healthy Independence Day weekend!
Read More about Week In Review - June 28 - July 2
clear
DCSD Logo
Week In Review June 21-25
06/25/2021
I hope you are taking some time to recharge and relax over the summer months. If you’re looking for something fun to do this weekend, check out the many state championship athletics games (more information below) taking place as the Spring Sports season wraps up.
Read More about Week In Review June 21-25
clear
DCSD Logo
Week In Review June 14-18
06/18/2021
We are nearly halfway through summer break, and I hope you are enjoying your time with family and friends to relax, recharge, and have some fun.
Read More about Week In Review June 14-18
clear
DCSD Logo
Week In Review June 7-11
06/11/2021
It feels like June is flying by. I hope you’re able to spend some time with friends and family and recharge and reflect over the coming weeks before we rev back up to the 2021-2022 school year.
Read More about Week In Review June 7-11
clear
Week In Review May 31 - June 4
06/04/2021
I hope you’ve been able to get out and enjoy some of the beautiful Colorado weather this week. Many of our schools are buzzing this summer, from the sound of construction! Thanks to the Bond that was passed by our community back in 2018, much-needed upgrades are continuing at many of our school buildings during the summer break. In the coming weeks we will be providing spotlights of some of this work and how it will benefit our students and staff in the 2021-2022 school year!
Read More about Week In Review May 31 - June 4
clear
DCSD Logo
Week In Review May 24-28
05/28/2021
We made it! This past Tuesday we officially said goodbye to the 2020-2021 school year. It wasn’t always an easy year but I’m so proud of the way our students and staff faced the challenges of the COVID-19 pandemic head-on. We found new ways of teaching, learning, and interacting and made the best of ever-changing health protocols. I am very hopeful that 2021-2022 can be one of normalcy again and look forward to providing our community with updates on what to expect in the coming school year very soon.
Read More about Week In Review May 24-28
clear
Week In Review May 17-21
05/21/2021
It's Graduation Week here in the Douglas County School District. Being able to attend many of the commencement events and celebrate our graduates really brings home why I’m so excited and proud to be DCSD’s Superintendent. This time of year reminds me of being a principal again. It reminds me of the amazing things our students and our schools are doing.
Read More about Week In Review May 17-21
clear
Week In Review May 10-14
05/14/2021
We are at the finish line for the 2020-2021 school year. High school graduations begin tomorrow starting with SkyView Academy and continue through next week! I am so incredibly proud of the resilience and determination of our graduating seniors. It was not an easy year but that did not deter our graduates. They continued to not only find the positives in challenging times but create the positives as well.
Read More about Week In Review May 10-14
clear
Week In Review May 3-7
05/07/2021
I’ve loved reading the emails and social media posts thanking our amazing teachers and staff during DCSD Staff Appreciation week. Our staff’s dedication to students shines through in so many ways.
Read More about Week In Review May 3-7
clear
Week in Review: April 26 - 30
04/30/2021
This week I had the honor of visiting some of our schools to see the building/capital improvements and repairs that have been completed as a result of the 2018 Bond initiative approved by our community.
Read More about Week in Review: April 26 - 30
clear
DCSD Logo
DCSD Week In Review April 19-23
04/23/2021
First, I am absolutely humbled to have been named superintendent of the Douglas County School District. Having spent the last 25 years in education as part of the Douglas County School District family, I am incredibly committed to this school district.
Read More about DCSD Week In Review April 19-23
clear
Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2021 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.

In compliance with Titles VI & VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, Title IX of the Education Amendments of 1972, Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, the Age Discrimination in Employment Act of 1967, the Americans with Disabilities Act, the Genetic Information Nondiscrimination Act of 2008, and Colorado law, the Douglas County School District RE-1 does not unlawfully discriminate against otherwise qualified students, employees, applicants for employment, or members of the public on the basis of disability, race, creed, color, sex, sexual orientation, marital status, national origin, religion, ancestry, or need for special education services. Discrimination against employees and applicants for employment based on age, genetic information, and conditions related to pregnancy or childbirth is also prohibited in accordance with state and/or federal law. Complaint procedures have been established for students, parents, employees, and members of the public. The School District's Compliance Officer and Title IX Coordinator to address complaints alleging sexual harassment under Title IX is Aaron Henderson, 620 Wilcox Street, Castle Rock, Colorado, complianceofficer@dcsdk12.org, 720-433-1083.

Outside Agencies

Complaints regarding violations of Title VI, (race, national origin), Title IX (sex, gender), Section 504/ADA (handicap or disability), may be filed directly with the Office for Civil Rights, U.S. Department of Education, 1244 North Speer Blvd., Suite 310, Denver, CO 80204. Complaints regarding violations of Title VII (employment) and the ADEA (prohibiting age discrimination in employment) may be filed directly with the Federal Office of Equal Employment Opportunity Commission, 303 E. 17th Ave., Suite 510, Denver, CO 80202, or the Colorado Civil Rights Commission, 1560 Broadway, Suite 1050, Denver, CO 80202.